About Us

President’s Message

For many Americans, 2022 marked the end of the pandemic. They took off their masks and returned to airplanes, restaurants and gyms.  Granted, the world they re-entered was slightly altered, but it was still familiar.

2022 in health care was different. The pandemic didn’t end, it just evolved. Old problems continued, like high volumes of COVID patients, only to be exacerbated by new challenges, like high volumes of behavioral health patients. And the world that health care entered in 2022 was dramatically different than pre-pandemic times. Staff were hard to come by. It was nearly impossible to discharge patients to skilled nursing facilities. Thousands of ambulatory visits moved online. And what had been an alternative form of reimbursement – value-based care – gained significant traction.

Here at the ACO, we witnessed the challenges of our participants and we reached out. We offered funds for projects that responded to the newly altered landscape. We increased access to data that helped participants hone their strategies for reducing unnecessary utilization. We intensified our care management of complex patients with behavioral health diagnoses. In short, we drew upon our tradition of engagement and collaboration with participants and adapted it to the current moment.

Now that we’re a considerable way into 2023, we’re pleased to share the results of 2022’s engagement and collaboration, expressed in stories and newly available data.

To our participants and payers, thank you for your partnership in 2022. We look forward to continuing strong and meaningful engagement with you this year and into the future as we all work to increase the value that our care provides to patients.

Jennifer Moore

Jennifer Moore signature
Jennifer Moore

MHACO Senior Leadership

Jennifer Moore, President
Shannon Banks, Chief Operating Officer
Tracy Callahan, Senior Director, Contract Operations
Rhonda Dolley, Senior Director, Administration
Martha Ridge, Senior Director, Network Development & Management
Cindy Tack, Senior Director, Value Based Insights and Initiatives
Mike Yunes, Senior Director, Analytics

MHACO Board Members

John Bancroft, MD
Beneficiary Representative

Joel Botler, MD
Maine Medical Center

Michael H. Clark, MD (Vice Chair)
Lifespan Family Healthcare

Carl DeMars, MD (Chair)
MidCoast Parkview Health

Linda Durst, MD
Maine Behavioral Healthcare

Kendra Emery, DO
Pen Bay Medical Center

Stephen Gorman, DO
Chest Medicine Associates

Lugene Inzana (Secretary)
Maine Medical Center

Aileen Mickey, MD
MaineHealth Medical Group

Daniel Nigrin, MD

James Powers, MD
Maine Medical Center

Jeffrey Sanders
Maine Medical Center

Douglas Smith, MD
St. Mary’s Health System

Albert G. Swallow III

Contact Information

MaineHealth Accountable Care Organization
110 Free Street
Portland, ME 04101